top of page

The Way of The Cross - Station 9

Station Nine – Via Dolorosa - Jesus Falls For The Third Time.

Almost at the end of his journey, Jesus stumbles and falls for the third time. The site of this event is identified near the entrance to the Coptic “Queen Helena” church and the Coptic patriarchy, near the Dir. al Sultan rooftop.

The ninth station of the cross is marked by a pillar. This is where Jesus fell for the third time under the heavy weight of the cross. Adjacent to the church of the Holy Sepulchre, the Coptic Patriarchate Church marks the 9th station of the Way of the Cross, where it is believed Jesus had collapsed for the third time on his way to the nearby Calvary. This is also the center for the Coptic Patriarchy in Israel which officially began in 1236 with the appointment of a Coptic Patriarch in Jerusalem.

The Coptic Patriarchate includes only several thousand members in Israel, as opposed to over 9 million residing in Egypt.The following stations are located in the church of the Holy Sepulchre.


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page